The authors would like to acknowledge the following people for their assistance:

  • Marc Holley, evaluation unit director, Walton Family Foundation

  • Dr. Matthew Ladner, senior advisor of policy and research, Foundation for Excellence in Education

  • Lindsey Burke, Will Skillman fellow in education, The Heritage Foundation

  • Audrey Spalding, education policy analyst, Mackinac Center

  • Evan Burgess, graphics intern, Mackinac Center

  • Grace Kendall, communications intern, Mackinac Center

Although these individuals helped significantly with this study, any errors in the report are the responsibility of the author alone.