The authors wish to acknowledge the following individuals for their input and assistance: Lynn Scarlett, Victor and Lois Porlier, Nancy Lavelle, Ellyn Lerner, David Winikur, Jim Boyle, Lori Sweeny, Bill Ballard, Amy Harrison, Daniel Daly, John Melingagio, Lynn Harsh, Peter Leone, Sherry Kolbe, Sister Toni Dudek, Sherry Quist, Tom Bushnell, Jerry Mintz, Roger Fazzone, Devorah Weinmann, Lon Woodbury, Tom McCool, Sally Bohne, Judi Hansen, Jim Hindman, John Hall, Gerald Thiers, Fred Koch, Robert Porter, Sister Elaine George, Sister M. Margaret Fleming, Larry Garcia, Lynn Harsh, John McLaughlin, Jack Klenk, Chris Yelich, and Fermin Burgos, and the staffs of The Manor Foundation, Starr Commonwealth, St. Peter’s Home for Boys, Our Lady of Providence Center, Vista Maria for Girls, and Eagle Village. All views expressed in this policy paper are the authors’.

The authors also extend their appreciation to Fieldsted & Company and other Reason Foundation supporters who made the original Reason research possible.