About the Authors

Dr. Daland R. Juberg is a toxicologist and environmental health scientist with Dow AgroSciences. In addition to his current responsibilities, which involve regulatory and industrial toxicology, Dr. Juberg has served as a consultant to the International Center for Toxicology and Medicine and the Environmental Control Technology Corporation. He has participated in environmental health issues at the state and federal levels, and he is involved in numerous science outreach activities that aim to increase the scientific underpinning of public policy in matters involving environmental and children’s health. He received his doctorate in toxicology in 1992 and his master’s degree in environmental health sciences in 1987 from the University of Michigan.

Dr. James Bus is director of external technology at The Dow Chemical Co. and an adjunct professor of pharmacology and toxicology at Michigan State University. Dr. Bus served as president of the Society of Toxicology in 1996-1997 and as president of the American Board of Toxicology in 1986-1987. He is a current member of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Chartered Science Advisory Board, the Science Advisory Board of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration National Center for Toxicological Research, and the National Academy of Sciences Board of Environmental Sciences and Toxicology. Dr. Bus received his doctorate in pharmacology from Michigan State University in 1975. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 research papers, reviews and books.

Diane S. Katz is director of science, environment and technology policy for the Mackinac Center for Public Policy. As SET director, Ms. Katz has initiated a variety of major policy research projects, authored more than 100 commentaries and hosted numerous forums. Her reports have been published by policy groups in California, Florida, Indiana, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin, and her opinion pieces have appeared in The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Times, National Review, Reason and The Weekly Standard. Before joining the Mackinac Center, Ms. Katz was a member of The Detroit News editorial board, where she won numerous awards, including top honors from the Michigan Press Association in 1994, 1996, 1997 and 1998.