The author would like to acknowledge the following people for their assistance:

  • Chris Douglas, associate professor of economics, University of Michigan-Flint

  • Lawrence Brunner, associate professor of economics, Central Michigan University

  • David Littmann, former senior economist and adjunct scholar, Mackinac Center

  • Adam Rule, former intern, Mackinac Center

  • Leon Drolet, chairman, Michigan Taxpayers Alliance

Although these individuals helped significantly with this study, any errors in the report are the responsibility of the author alone.